Fiber Festivals

Spinners Day on the Farm 2012, Westside Farm, Healdsburg, CA

Last week I had the pleasure of attending my first outdoor fiber festival. It was a very small and informal affair called Spinner’s Day on the Farm in Healdsburg, CA, in the heart of wine country. On a sunny Sunday afternoon a bunch of spinners and other confirmed fiber afficionados gathered for spinning & knitting under the shade of enormous trees, a potluck lunch, yarn & fiber vendors, and a fun raffle at the end of the day. Here are a few more photos:

Beautiful yarn for sale on the left, spinning circle on the right. Where do I go first?

Spinning wheels were everywhere.

I’m still working on tweaking the full set of photos (my camera was set incorrectly so they need a lot of work), but my friend Toni took some really good photos and posted them along with a great diary on her blog, KnitFun.

In related news, I came across this terrific video slide-show, narrated by Clara Parkes, describing last month’s Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival. Clara is the editor of the Knitters Review and author of several great books on knitting & wool. Make sure to view the video in full-screen mode if for no other reason than to admire all the cute sheep! I’m not sure why, but I had to turn up the volume way up on my laptop in order to hear the narration in this video. Watching this video makes me wish I lived on the East Coast. Then again, I think about where I live (San Francisco Bay Area) and I realize how lucky I am.

About fotoknit

Knitter, spinner, knitwear designer, photographer, blogger, former yarn shop owner.
This entry was posted in festivals, knitting, spinning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fiber Festivals

  1. Angela says:

    I want to see a photo gallery of your spinning!

  2. LynneP says:

    Oh look!!! a vintage Thumbelina right up front!!! Lovely day.

Leave a Reply

