New Design: Lapis, a Men’s Vest

Lapis Men’s Vest, made from Mas Acero from
Brooks Farm Yarn

I started a new project about a month ago which will eventually turn into a published pattern: Lapis, a man’s vest. I’m currently knitting this simple sweater vest for myself (thus it’s taking a long time because I’m quite tall). The garment will be a pullover with a v-neck. It’s a very simple garment made out of stockinette stitch in order to show off the breathtaking yarn: Mas Acero by Brooks Farm Yarn. This yarn is a light worsted weight whose fiber content is 55% wool, 30% silk and 15% viscose. I acquired the yarn at Stitches West 2012 in Santa Clara, CA. I’ve long admired their products and have been anxious to create something using their beautiful yarns and shimmering sophisticated colorways.

Lapis Vest. Yarn: Mas Acero from Brook Farm Yarn

Mas Acero is quite easy to work with; however, my Addi Turbo needles occasionally snag on the 9 ply yarn – but it doesn’t seem to be a problem. I absolutely LOVE the colors. The name of the vest comes from the similarity of this particular colorway (which has no name) to Lapis Lazuli, a rare semi-precious stone prized since antiquity for its intense blue color.

Lapis Vest in Progress

The vest is worked in two pieces from the bottom up; I’ve almost reached the armhole shaping on the first piece (the back). I will post more as I make progress. Stay tuned!

About fotoknit

Knitter, spinner, knitwear designer, photographer, blogger, former yarn shop owner.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Design: Lapis, a Men’s Vest

  1. It’s absolutely stunning. I can’t wait for the pattern. I love knitting vests for my dad.

  2. Denise says:

    Gorgeous! I still have the sweater you made & left behind for me 🙂 Where will you publish this? And heh, tall is sooo true!

  3. mary knapp-samet says:

    beutiful as always, Warren!

Leave a Reply

