Merino/Bamboo/Sea Cell Sock Yarn

3 Ply Sock Yarn spun from Merino/Bamboo/Seacell
from Creatively Dyed Yarns

My latest spinning adventure culminated in the successful skein pictured above: 355 yards of fingering weight sock yarn. The fiber was purchased at Stitches West 2012 from Creatively Dyed Yarns. It is 80% superwash merino, 10% bamboo and 10% seacell (a silky cellulose fiber that contains seaweed). The colorway is quite stunning although it’s oddly named: String. Yes, String. Huh? I’d love to know the thought process behind that name!

Closeup of Handspun using Merino/Bamboo/Seacell
from Creatively Dyed Yarns

Other stats: approx. 20 wpi, 3.5 ounces. I will probably knit a pair of socks for myself out of this. I’m very curious to see how the socks hold up (both literally and figuratively)! Seacell is one of those “new fangled” fibers that I haven’t tried yet in a project. Has anyone out there knitted socks that contained seacell? Post your thoughts/experiences in the comment section.

June 30th (ie. this coming Saturday) starts the annual Tour de Fleece event on Ravelry. I am participating for the first time and have joined upwards of five teams. You basically commit to spinning every day the Tour de France runs. There are prizes, although the main benefit is to make new friends, challenge yourself, and improve your spinning skills. You can set any sort of goal you’d like; for example, spin a sweater’s worth of yarn, spin finer than you ever have before, reduce your ever-expanding stash, spin a project’s worth of yarn using a specific drafting technique, etc. I’m looking forward to it! I’ll be posting my experiences during the month of July, along with photos of my spinning.

About fotoknit

Knitter, spinner, knitwear designer, photographer, blogger, former yarn shop owner.
This entry was posted in spinning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merino/Bamboo/Sea Cell Sock Yarn

  1. I love finally getting to see some of your finished spinning. Let me know if you ever plan to sell a sock weight that you’ve spun.

    • fotoknit says:

      Angela, that is one of my Tour de Fleece goals: spin faster so that I’m able to sell my handspun at a palatable price. I’m not there yet. Also, did you see two other handspun sock yarns on my blog? If not look at older posts.

  2. Toni says:

    Meticulously spun yarn and the blend sounds yummy. They are really coming up with some interesting organic fibers these days. Of course the colors are some of my favorites. Love the golden colorways. I will also be interested in seeing how they knit up.

Leave a Reply

