My Video Mentor: longdrawjames

I must share a video with you – a youtube video that has changed my spinning life. Allow me to introduce… longdrawjames.

 

Ever since I started spinning I’ve attempted and failed to master the “long draw” technique – a technique that yields a lofty, fluffy yarn full of air and life. Among its advantages is a more speedy spin. Spinning a certain amount of fiber simply takes much less time (some say 1/7th the time) using long draw, a woolen technique, versus a worsted technique such as short-forward draw, the only technique I’ve mastered.

A short time ago I stumbled upon longdrawjames’ video on long draw and was entranced: entranced by his accent, entranced by his graceful hands, and entranced by his technique. Best of all, I am well on my way to mastering the long draw technique! You must watch. And enjoy.

About fotoknit

Knitter, spinner, knitwear designer, photographer, blogger, former yarn shop owner.
This entry was posted in spinning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Video Mentor: longdrawjames

  1. nadia says:

    Just stopped by to enjoy your blog. Lovely yarns that you’re producing. I used to knit and spin, as did my mom who was known as “the Mad Ripper”. Also really enjoyed the Ben Venom video. Very refreshing!
    best from Tunisia,
    nadia

Leave a Reply

