Knitting By The Sea

Starting a new project while enjoying the Pacific Ocean

A couple of weeks ago, on a fine warm Sunday afternoon, I found myself wandering along a scenic trail in the Marin Headlands, just a few miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge. I spend a lot of time in this national park (technically it’s a National Recreation Area). Close to the city, it feels like you’re hundreds of miles from civilization. Abandoned military bunkers dot the area, and on this day I found a perfect spot to perch on the “roof” of a bunker. Since these structures are dug into the ground, the roof is actually at ground level.

It was an unusually warm day at the ocean with only a slight breeze. I sat down cross-legged on the concrete roof, feeling a little like one of the native lizards sunning itself on the warm surface. I pulled out my knitting and spent hours working on a new project while listening to the ocean waves crashing onto the rocks below. As the sun fell lower in the sky and evening approached, I found it very hard to leave and make the 45 minute drive home. I’m tremendously grateful I live so close to such a wonderful place. Sun, ocean and knitting – what’s not to love?

PS: Pictured with my knitting is a Large Yarn Pop project bag. I discovered these wonderful project bags at Stitches West this past February and currently own three. They are of the highest quality fabric, lined, and feature a heavy-duty zipper that does NOT snag your yarn. Highly recommended. Check them out here: Yarn Pop.

About fotoknit

Knitter, spinner, knitwear designer, photographer, blogger, former yarn shop owner.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knitting By The Sea

  1. Sounds like a wonderful afternoon.

  2. nadia says:

    I’ve visited the area many years ago, and what a lovely afternoon. You make me miss knitting–it’s just so portable and easy. I might have to pick up the needles again. My mom used to take her knitting to concerts and was famous for chasing runaway balls of yarn under the seats (embarrassing as a kid)! Do you do that too?
    best, nadia

Leave a Reply

