The Birth of a Cowl

Cowl using Plucky Knitter Traveler Yak/Merino/Silk blend

Normally I’m a disciplined knitter; I finish what I start before beginning a new project. Because I am currently suffering from multiple project idea disorder, I find it hard to stick to one project for very long. Case in point: 2/3 of the way through designing & knitting a vest for myself, I felt compelled to stop and design a cowl out of yarn that had been calling out to me from my stash. I was at a point where I had to stop knitting the vest in order to make decisions on how to handle the neckline. Cowls don’t have necks per se; just knit a cool tube! So I set aside the vest and designed and knitted my first cowl project in Plucky Knitter Traveler Sport, a sport weight yarn made of merino, yak and silk. The color is a lovely silvery grey called ‘Barely Birch’. Unfortunately I neglected to write out certain details of the pattern, so I had to knit up another cowl, this time taking careful notes and verifying the accuracy of the pattern. The second version is knit in Plucky Knitter Primo Sport, a sport weight blend of merino, cashmere and nylon. This  cowl is in a color called ‘Well Preserved’, a deep rich purple. I have yet to snap a photo of the second cowl.

Happily, the pattern is done and it was recently test-knitted by a dear friend. The next steps will be formatting the pattern, then photographing the cowl on a real person. If all goes well, this will be my first self-published pattern!

About fotoknit

Knitter, spinner, knitwear designer, photographer, blogger, former yarn shop owner.
This entry was posted in garments, knitting, knitwear design and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Birth of a Cowl

  1. It was beautiful to see in person!!! Your photos totally do it justice… can’t wait to see what’s going on with your sweater spinning!!

    • fotoknit says:

      I know, right? I so love taking pics of fiber goodness. Heck I love doing photography in general. And stay tuned, another sweater spinning post is coming up very soon!

  2. lotuspeach says:

    Gorgeous! Nice color too! It looks like the cable- looking part might not bee too difficult. I would love to knit cowl for next fall so yours may be my first. Addie

  3. nadia says:

    Lovely knitting. Congratulations on your pattern. I loved the yarn in the previous post as well. Makes me want to pull out my spinning wheel which is collecting dust in a closet. But it’s springtime and the temperatures will soon be hot…not conducive to either activity!
    best from Tunisia,
    nadia

Leave a Reply

